Volunteer works with students

Getting Started!

1. Sign up online

Somerville Public Schools strives to match volunteers with meaningful opportunities that will best support student learning and meet the needs of the whole child/student. If interested in serving regularly (at least once a week) please self-register. This helps to match you with an opportunity that fits your skills and interests, allows SPS to document and demonstrate impact on student learning and well-being, and share out future opportunities. 

2. Attend a Volunteer Orientation

Looking to serve this school year? Our next Volunteer Orientation is Thursday, December 15 from 5:30pm-6:30pm. Email JCapuano@k12.somerville.ma.us to RSVP and for directions. This orientation is live and in person!     

3. Submit your CORI Form and proof of COVID-19 vaccination

For the safety of all students and staff, all volunteers age 18 or older are required to have an approved CORI (Criminal Offender Record Information) with Somerville Public Schools.  Regardless of time commitment or volunteer activity (including remote volunteering), Volunteers must have an approved CORI with SPS every school year. SPS is returning to pre-COVID CORI protocols.  Parents/Guardians of SPS: CORIs may be submitted in person at your school's main office during school hours or via JCapuano@k12.somerville.ma.us in person by appointment. New community volunteers: Please sign up for a Volunteer Orientation; CORIs will be submitted in person then. 

For information about MA CORI regulation and your CORI rights visit https://www.mass.gov/doc/cori-booklet/download.  Volunteers without a Social Security Number are permitted to volunteer; volunteers without government-issued ID may submit a personal identification attestation form.  Volunteers serving in person must be fully vaccinated for COVID-19. Acceptable proof of vaccination include: CDC vaccination card, photo of CDC vaccination card, or State vaccination record or digital vaccine passport (this varies by state).

Volunteer Resources

Volunteer Guidelines

This Guide outlines Somerville Public Schools' practices for all volunteers and the expectations SPS educators and staff have as you serve with a Somerville school. Volunteers matched for remote tutoring or mentoring will be asked to review and sign the SPS Guidelines and Confidentiality Agreement.      

2022-2023 School-Based Volunteer Coordinators

Albert F. Argenziano School (PK-8):  Marian Berkowitz:  MBerkowitz@k12.somerville.ma.us
Benjamin G. Brown School (K-5) Sandra Dumas: SDumas@k12.somerville.ma.us
Michael E. Capuano Early Childhood Education Center (PK-K) Ariel Mayer:  AMayer@k12.somerville.ma.us
East Somerville Community School (K-8 and Unidos) Jackeline Castellanos: JCastellanos@k12.somerville.ma.us
Arthur D. Healey School (PK-8) Emma Daniels: EDaniels@k12.somerville.ma.us
John F. Kennedy School (PK-8) Mary Marshall: MMarshall@k12.somerville.ma.us
Next Wave / Full Circle Schools (6-12) Elizabeth Gillott: EGillott@k12.somerville.ma.us
Somerville High School (9-12) position open, contact JCapuano@k12.somerville.ma.us 
West Somerville Neighborhood School (PK-8)  Maura McCarthy: MMcCarthy@k12.somerville.ma.us
Winter Hill Community Innovation School (PK-8) MaryLou Carey-Sturniolo MSturniolo@k12.somerville.ma.us 
 
Please note: School-Based Volunteer Coordinator positions are stipend positions (2 hours/week). School-Based Volunteer Coordinators are typically full-time SPS staff who perform Volunteer Coordinating duties at their school in addition to their full-time work.